Aimless Again: 2020 Future Punks

Long Island has a rich history in the emo/punk scene from the likes of Taking Back Sunday and Brand New to Glassjaw and Envy on the Coast and now we have Aimless Again ready to take the scene by storm. 2020 Future Punks probably went under the radar for most in 2018, but it’s not too late to hop on that bandwagon. It’s a tight, punchy, 34 minutes of pure unadulterated punk rock.

They come out the gates swinging with the in-your-face “Shredder” clocking in just under 2 minutes which is everything you need in an album opener. It gets right to the point, gives you a quick look at what Aimless Again is about, and sets up the rest of the album. The bridge in “Scream” gives me flashbacks (and some slight PTSD) of being in a pit screaming back at the band on stage and this shit is straight out of 2002 in all the right ways. This is a damn punk anthem for the ages right here. “My Mistake” is for sure one of my favorites from the album. Its lyrics are relatable, I subconsciously found myself head bobbin’ along, and it’s catchy as fuck. “So what, who cares, fuck my life, cut my hair” was stuck in my head all damn day. My other favorite, “7 Lonely Days” is a near perfect 6 and a half minute punk ballad. This song has that indescribable element that some songs have that just brings you back time and time again. Some genius songwriting right here.

2020 Future Punks is the next step for Aimless Again. They leave no room to spare, packing the album with punchy, in your face, catchy songs; relatable lyrics that sometimes hit way too close to home; and a small pinch of nostalgia that shows where they’ve come from and gives a glimpse into the history of the scene. They are definitely ahead of their time and I’m excited to see where they go from here.

Leave a comment